RSS Feed Editorial Emissions

Staff Editorial: Music Emissions’ Top Albums/EPs of 2017

posted January 5, 2018, 12:32 am by Carlita | Filed Under Best Of, Staff Editorial | comment Leave a Comment


Now that the holidays are over and arctic chills possessively rule most of the land, it’s prime time to applaud the artists of several genres who gave us moments of musical surprise and joy throughout an otherwise pretty bizarre year. This group of artists comprises a diverse mix of well-established and rising talents that filled many playlists and made pressing “Repeat” that much easier. Check out the international staff picks below!

Gary Hill

1. Styx – The Mission

2. Hawkwind – Into the Woods

3. Chrome – Techromancy

4. The Residents – Ghost of Hope

5. Alice Cooper – Paranormal

6. Joe Bouchard – Playin’ History

7. Nik Turner – Life in Space

8. Roadcase Royale – First Things First

9. Djabe and Steve Hackett – Life is a Journey: The Sardina Tapes

10. Aurganic – Distant Echoes and Close Encounters

Nick Fry

1. Slowdive – “Slowdive”

2. A Projection – “Framework”

3. Secret Shine – “There Is Only Now”

4. Kairon:IRSE! – “Ruination”

5. Desperate Journalist – “Grow Up”

6. Underground Youth – “What Kind of Dystopian Hellhole Is This?”

7. Blue Aeroplanes – “Welcome Stranger”

8. The Bats – “The Deep Set”

9. Les Discrets – “Predateurs”

10. Drab Majesty – “The Demonstration”


In no particular order.

Prince-Purple Rain (Deluxe)

Gwen Bunn- Safe Travels


H.E.R- H.E.R

Adelita’s Way- Notorious

RLUMR- After Image

Daniel Caesar- Freudian

Hurray For The Riff Raff- The Navigator

Sadistik- Altars

Rapsody-Laila’s Wisdom

Miguel-War & Leisure

Bomba Estereo- Ayo

Mega Ran- Extra Credit

La Pingos Orquesta-Peregrino

The Doppelgangaz-Dopp Hopp

Emily Estefan-Take Whatever You Want

Sabrina Claudio- About Time

Demi Lovato-Tell Me You Love Me


Suzi Analogue- Zonez: Vol 1: I Hope My Momma Is Bragging on Me

Goldlink- At What Cost

Insecure- Season 2 Soundtrack

La Misa Negra- La Misa Negra


Chris Stapleton-From A Room: Volume 1

Prophets of Rage-Prophets of Rage


Nai Palm- Needle Paw

Joey DeFrancesco and The People-Project Freedom

Willow- The 1st

Takashi Tzusuki- It’s Not Fair

Dua Lipa-Dua Lipa Live Acoustic EP

Ambrose Akinmusire- A Rift in Decorum-Live at The Village Vanguard


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Music Emissions music community
Music Emissions
Rate, Recommend, Review

© 1999 - 2013 Music Emissions
Acceptable Use | Privacy Policy | Built by Scanland Development
Facebook | Twitter