RSS Feed Editorial Emissions

Contest: Pixies (closed)

posted April 28, 2014, 6:48 am by Brian Rutherford | Filed Under Contest, General Interest | comment Leave a Comment

As you may have heard by now, one of the most respected bands to grace the indie music scene is back! Just in case you missed it, here are the details.



(LOS ANGELES, CA – March 24, 2014) — Fans have dreamed about it for years, and now Pixies are delivering. Indie Cindy, the band’s first full studio album since 1991’s Trompe le Monde, will be released in late April (April 23/Japan, April 28/UK/Europe/International, April 29/North America) on the band’s own independent label, Pixiesmusic (marketed and distributed worldwide by [PIAS] Recordings). Pre-orders for most configurations can be placed beginning today at iTunes, Amazon, and other online retail outlets.

“We started seriously talking about recording new music about four years ago,” said Pixies drummer David Lovering. “New music seemed like something we just had to do, we just couldn’t continue to go out and tour without anything new. So the talk evolved into writing and recording, and we’re all very happy with the way everything worked out.”

The 12 cuts on Indie Cindy were produced by Gil Norton, producer of the band’s classic Doolittle, Bossanova, and Trompe le Monde albums, and recorded during October 2012 at Rockfield Studios in Wales, UK. The various packages feature a collection of brand new artwork by the legendary graphic artist Vaughan Oliver who created the artwork for all of Pixies’ previous releases. The album is comprised of “Bagboy,” the band’s first new song in more than a decade, the eight tracks from the band’s EP-1 and EP-2, released September 3, 2013 and January 3, 2014 respectively, plus the three new tunes from the just-released EP-3 – all written by the Pixies – Black Francis/vocals, guitar; Joey Santiago/guitars; David Lovering/drums, backing vocals. With EP-1, EP-2 and now EP-3 having been available only in digital and limited-edition vinyl formats, Indie Cindy will mark the first time fans can have all of the new Pixies music in one collection.

Pixies are making Indie Cindy available in a selection of formats:
* as a standard 12-track single-CD digipak with booklet
* as a two-disc, deluxe gatefold album, pressed on 180-gram vinyl
* as a standard 12-track digital download via iTunes, Amazon, and other online retail sellers
* as an expanded digital download exclusively through iTunes that includes a bonus live-in-concert 13-track set recorded during the band’s recently-completed North American tour

* available at, a special deluxe, limited edition (5,000) two-disc set (available as a CD and as a deluxe gatefold album pressed on 180-gram vinyl) that includes the 13-track live disc. This deluxe package also includes a 40-page, hard-back book that features the new artwork produced exclusively for Indie Cindy. The CD limited edition is packaged in a special gold-foil hard slipcase.

20140318_143309_3390_654569IN STORES THIS TUESDAY (April 29th!) click here to order

While Pixies have been acclaimed as the most influential, pioneering band of the late 80s alt/rock movement, having blazed the trail for artists from Nirvana to Radiohead to Pearl Jam, today, a whole new generation of music fans are discovering their iconic “loudquietloud” signature sound. After five genre-defining studio albums, Pixies disbanded in 1993, and then launched their reunion tour in April 2004, playing to sell-out crowds all over the globe for seven years, a longer period of time than they were a band originally. But writing, recording and releasing new music was something that the band had been wanting to do for a long time, so they secretly booked studio time in Wales for the fall of 2012. Six days into the recording, founding bassist Kim Deal decided to leave the band; Black Francis, Joey Santiago and David Lovering made the decision to carry on, working with a variety of touring bassists, something they’d never done. As the UK’s DIY wrote about the new music, “They’re back. They’re still brilliant. God save the Pixies.”


The Pixies are
Black Francis – vocals, guitars
Joey Santiago – guitars
David Lovering – drums, backing vocals
Ding – bass
Jeremy Dubs – backing vocals

Track listing: click album cover to purchase>
1.What Goes Boom
2.Greens and Blues
3.Indie Cindy
5.Magdalena 318
6.Silver Snail
7.Blue Eyed Hexe
8.Ring the Bell
9.Another Toe in the Ocean
10.Andro Queen
12.Jaime Bravo

Track listing for Live In The USA*:
1.Bone Machine
4.Magdalena 318
6.Indie Cindy
7.I’ve Been Tired
8.Head On
9.The Sad Punk
10.Distance Equals Rate Times Time
11.Something Against You
12.Isla de Encanta
13.Planet of Sound

* (with touring bassist Paz Lenchantin)
Indie Cindy
Produced by Gil Norton
Recorded at Rockfield Studios, Wales
Record label: pixiesmusic

Somebody say something about a contest?


Post a playlist of your five favorite Pixies songs to our Twitter or Facebook with the hastag #whereismypixies. The contestant(s) with the most re-tweets or likes will be named a prize winner on May 5th.


One (1) winner will receive
Grand Prize

  • T-Shirt
  • Signed Lithograph
  • Signed Poster
  • Signed CD
  • Sticker sheet
  • Button
  • Secondary Prizes
    Two(2) winners receive:

  • Lithograph
  • A flat of the album cover (suitable for framing)
  • Stickers and buttons
  • Winners



    Leave a Reply

    You must be logged in to post a comment.

    Music Emissions music community
    Music Emissions
    Rate, Recommend, Review

    © 1999 - 2013 Music Emissions
    Acceptable Use | Privacy Policy | Built by Scanland Development
    Facebook | Twitter