RSS Feed Editorial Emissions

Tour Review: Walk The Moon

posted June 20, 2012, 4:21 pm by Ben Oliver | Filed Under Music News | comment 1 Comment

Tags: Walk The Moon

Review and Photos by special guest correspondent Michel Dussack

Much in the way that Foster the People crafted a perfect summer song with ‘Pumped Up Kicks’, Cincinnati, Ohio based Walk The Moon have been gained massive amounts of recognition for their absolute standout summer hit ‘Anna Sun’. In fact, both Seventeen Magazine and MTV have both voted the song as the official ‘Song of the Summer’. On June 19th, the band released their self-titled album, and in celebration of the release played on David Letterman. After the Letterman taping, the band heading to New York’s tiny Mercury Lounge to play an album release party. It was fitting that the band took the stage a bit after 11:20 pm, as half of their set was technically performed on the first day of summer.

Walk the Moon opened their set with

‘The Liftaway’, a track found on their debut album ‘i want! i want’. Despite the track coming from the band’s first album, which has become increasingly hard to find, the face painted crowd seemed to know every word to the song. This pattern followed throughout the night – you’d be hard pressed to find a song that the crowd didn’t sing every word to. ‘Quesadilla’ followed, and despite a drunken fan spilling beer all over bassist Kevin Ray’s pedal board, the song sounded tight as the crowd danced the night away into the early morning hours.

Towards the middle of the set vocalist and keyboardist and sometimes drummer Nicholas Petricca addressed the crowd before playing the title track from ‘i want! i want!’. “We have a new album coming out…but this one isn’t on it” he began to say before remembering that the album was indeed finally out that day. A couple songs later, we were treated to an unreleased track entitled ‘Tete-a-tete’, meaning “head to head” as Nicholas told the crowd. ‘Shiver Shiver’ followed later on and hearing Nicholas hit the hit falsetto notes of the chorus perfectly was remarkable.

New song ‘Fixin’’ was given a backstory as Nicholas explained that while the band is typically viewed as an upbeat band, the song is about his dad who isn’t doing well. He explained that it’s just one of those things that he had to get out of him in some way, and a song was the only way he could, before adding “that doesn’t mean you can’t dance to it”. When it came time for the show to end, there was really on one way for the band to end it – with ‘Anna Sun’. As the entire venue bounced up and down and sang every word back to the band, their faces beamed with excitement. I noticed Kevin mouth something to guitarist Eli Maiman that looked like “this is incredible” during the song, and really that statement applied in two ways. While I’m sure it was incredible for the band to hear a few hundred people sing along with every word of one of their songs, it was just as incredible for the audience to witness a band at the very beginning of what will surely be a very successful summer, year, and musical career.



Walk the Moon setlist

  • The Liftaway
  • Quesadilla
  • Next in Line
  • Jenny
  • i want! i want!
  • Tightrope
  • Lisa Baby
  • Tete-a-tete
  • Iscariot
  • Shiver Shiver
  • Fixin’
  • Anna Sun


One Response to “Tour Review: Walk The Moon”

  1. Profile photo of mackypaige mackypaige on July 5th, 2012 10:50 am

    These guys are amazing live! So proud of them for being featured on Vevo Lift!

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Music Emissions music community
Music Emissions
Rate, Recommend, Review

© 1999 - 2013 Music Emissions
Acceptable Use | Privacy Policy | Built by Scanland Development
Facebook | Twitter