RSS Feed Editorial Emissions

Dirty Beaches Announces Double LP

posted April 5, 2013, 4:23 pm by Ben Oliver | Filed Under General Interest, Music News, Releases, Tour | comment Leave a Comment


Dirty Beaches

Photo Credit: Daniel Boud

This week we were given another glimpse of the new Dirty Beaches double LP coming out on May 21st on ZOO MUSIC with the release of a new track “Landscapes In The Mist.” Drifters/Love is the Devil marks a new direction for the ever evolving artist, who recently spoke with Pitchfork from his new home of Berlin to discuss the process behind the new record. Pitchfork describe the album as “a more experimental release…has Hungtai taking detours towards cracked blues motifs, brittle techno, field-recording ambience, and guitar-led pieces not unlike Neil Young’s soundtrack for Jim Jarmusch’s 1995 existentalist Western Dead Man.”

result (2)

Hungtai is about to embark on a tour of Russia with good friends Tonstartssbandht, who will also be releasing a split cassette together. You can read more about the release now over at Dummy Magazine. After Russia, Dirty Beaches will be touring Europe and the UK including a stop at the Yeah Yeah Yeah’s curated All Tomorrow’s Parties festival. Expect North American dates later this summer.

You can also download this mixtape on tastemaker fashion site SSENSE, which is “full of his signature emotive yet upbeat sound, opening with Valerie Dore’s 1985 track, ‘Get Closer,’ before moving on to more upbeat offerings from Lustt, Brain, Nicolas Courtin, and Yannis Rianta.

Drifters/Love is the Devil is available for pre-order now and will be released on May 21st, 2013.

Alex Zhang Hungtai, AKA Dirty Beaches, started off as a one man band in 2005 in Montreal. A trans-pacific nomad and genre hopping sound smith, his past releases include drone instrumentals, film scores and a fascination with dissecting popular american music like blues, rockabilly, soul, RNB, and hip hop, often rendering them to the point where its no longer recognizable.

His latest release, Drifters/Love Is The Devil, is a double LP that chronicles the musician’s life on the road over the past 2 years, as we follow him down the rabbit hole through the labyrinths of Berlin, Belgrade, Paris, and many other cities through heartbreak, rebirth and masochistic existential self reflection.

Recorded between Montreal and Berlin in the winter of 2012, the double LP is separated only by aesthetics, as they are tightly woven together thematically as one conceptual piece. If 2011’s Badlands was an exercise in exorcising past ghosts in a semi-fictional world, then¬†Drifters/Love Is The Devil is a reflection on the fragility of reality. One, of the surface world in which he explores the night life of bright neon temptations dwelling in hedonistic irresponsible values, and the other of the inner world, one of remorse and lovelorn tragedies.

As stated by the artist himself, “the most honest piece of music I’ve ever written.” Drifters/Love Is The Devil is out May 21st, 2013 on ZOO MUSIC.

Drifters Tracklisting

01. Night Walk
02. I Dream In Neon
03. Belgrade
04. Casino Lisboa
05. ELLI
06. Aurevoir Mon Visage
07. Mirage Hall
08. Landscapes In The Mist

Love Is The Devil Tracklisting

01. Greyhound At Night
02. This Is Not My City
03. Woman
04. Love Is The Devil
05. Alone At The Danube River
06. I Don’t Know How To Find My Way Back To You
07. Like The Ocean We Part
08. Berlin


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Music Emissions music community
Music Emissions
Rate, Recommend, Review

© 1999 - 2013 Music Emissions
Acceptable Use | Privacy Policy | Built by Scanland Development
Facebook | Twitter