RSS Feed Editorial Emissions

How music has invaded your life, invades once again

posted August 18, 2008, 1:56 pm by Brian Rutherford | Filed Under Music News | comment Leave a Comment

SpeakEasy PR reports


PRODUCTION; ADDS TO ALREADY IMPRESSIVE GROUP OF PARTICIPANTS Documentary from the producers of 2006’s “Moog” features original score by The Flaming Lips’ Steven Drozd with a cover of Elton John’s “Rocket Man” sung by Tool’s Maynard James Keenan LOS ANGELES, Aug. 18 – “The Heart is a Drum Machine,” the music documentary from the producers of 2006’s “Moog” feature, has wrapped production and added to an already impressive cast of musicians, music historians, critics and scientists including MTV’s Kurt Loder, Tool’s Maynard James Keenan, former New York Times music critic Neil Strauss, KCRW’s Nic Harcourt and actor/musicians Elijah Wood, Jason Schwartzman and Juliette Lewis. The film, directed by Christopher Pomerenke and produced by Ryan Page and Hans Fjellestad, explores music’s role in shaping human history, the profound connection people have had to music throughout human history, how it has shaped our experiences and its involvement in our daily lives.

New additions to the cast include George Clinton, Red Hot Chili Peppers’ John Frusciante, the aforementioned Kurt Loder of MTV fame, Carl Sagan’s widow Ann Druyan, music supervisor Alexandra Patsavas (Grey’s Anatomy, Mad Men) and Metalocalypse’s Brendon Small amongst others (a complete list is below). Already confirmed participants include filmmaker Penelope Spheeris, Tool’s enigmatic frontman Maynard James Keenan, Jimmy Tamborello of the ground-breaking Postal Service, Modest Mouse’s Isaac Brock, DJ Z-Trip, music collector/actor/label owner Elijah Wood, Los Lobos, Jason Schwartzman, KCRW’s Nic Harcourt, former New York Times music critic Neil Strauss, Spoon’s Britt Daniel, The Silversun Pickups, Juliette Lewis, X’s John Doe, Sleater-Kinney’s Janet Weiss and many others. “The Heart is a Drum Machine” will debut in early 2009 with further details to be announced later this year.

DIRECTOR: Christopher Pomerenke

EXECUTIVE PRODUCERS: David Bills, Juan Luis Carrera, Chris McDaniel, Mark Purcell, Jason Stall

PRODUCERS: Hans Fjellestad, Constance L. Joy, Joe Mundo, Ryan Page

FILM EDITOR: Hans Fjellestad



Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Music Emissions music community
Music Emissions
Rate, Recommend, Review

© 1999 - 2013 Music Emissions
Acceptable Use | Privacy Policy | Built by Scanland Development
Facebook | Twitter